The Gittes Law Group

Columbus, Ohio Employment Attorneys

723 Oak Street
Columbus, OH 43205
Fax: (614) 221-9655

(614) 222-4735

Filing a Harassment Complaint – State Law

 

Sexual harassment is a form of sex discrimination that violates Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964. Title VII applies to employers with 15 or more employees. Sexual harassment can be un-welcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors, and other verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature that explicitly or implicitly affects an individual’s employment. These acts can also rise to the level of sexual harassment when they unreasonably interfere with an individual’s work performance or create a hostile or offensive work environment. Some states have included sexual harassment to their anti-discrimination statutes, and they cover smaller employers not covered by federal law for sexual harassment claims. The following states have sexual harassment clauses in their anti-discrimination statutes:

Alabama

Alabama does not have a statute that prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace.[1]  If the employer has 15 or more employees, Alabama employees are protected against sexual harassment by Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964. See the Alabama Law Enforcement website for more information about your rights and how to file a complaint. Complaints about sexual harassment, can be filed with the Secretary of Senate.

Alaska

1. What types of harassment claims are covered? 

The  Alaska State Commission for Human Rights Law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace. Law protects employees against retaliation for sexual harassment claims.

2. Does the size or type of employer matter?  

An employer that is subject to the Alaska State Commission for Human Rights Law is defined as “a person, including the state and a political subdivision of the state, who has one or more employees in the state but does not include a club that is exclusively social, or a fraternal, charitable, educational, or religious association or corporation, if the club, association, or corporation is not organized for private profit.”

3. Where do you file?  

If you have a claim under the Alaska State Commission for Human Rights Law, you can file the claim through the Alaska State Commission for Human Rights. See the Alaska State Commission for Human Rights informational webpage to learn more about filing a complaint.

4. How much time do you have to file? 

You must file your complaint with the Alaska State Commission for Human Rights Law within 300 days of the discriminatory act.

Arizona

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

Arizona’s Civil Rights Laws prohibit sexual harassment in the workplace.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

For sexual harassment claims, an employer who is subject to Arizona’s Civil Rights Laws is defined as “a person who has one or more employees in the current or preceding calendar year.” For all other claims, an employer is defined as “a person who has fifteen or more employees for each working day in each of twenty or more calendar weeks in the current or preceding calendar year, and any agent of that person…” See the Arizona State Legislature website for more information.

3. Where do you file?

You can file a complaint through the Civil Rights Division of the Arizona Attorney General’s Office complaint form webpage.

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file a charge under Arizona’s Civil Rights Laws within 180 days of the sexual harassment.

Arkansas

Arkansas does not have a state enforcement agency for discrimination or harassment claims. Arkansas employees are protected against sexual harassment by Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964. See the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration policy for more information.

California

1.What types of harassment claims are covered?  

California law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace. See the Department of Fair Employment and Housing for more information. Important Notes: California Senate Bill 331 limits the ways in which non-disclosure agreements and settlement agreements can be used when dealing with harassment claims.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

All public and private employers, labor organizations, and employment agencies employers, no matter their size, are subject to the California’s laws prohibiting harassment.

3. Where do you file?

You can file a harassment complaint through the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing  using the online system, by filling out this form and mailing it to 2218 Kausen Drive, Suite 100, Elk Grove, CA 95758, or by calling the Department at 800-884-1684 (voice), 800-700-2320 (TTY).

4. How much time do you have to file?

You have three years from the day that you were harmed to file your complaint with the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing.

Colorado

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

Colorado’s Anti-Discrimination Act prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

An employer that is subject to Colorado’s laws prohibiting harassment is defined as “the state of Colorado or any political subdivision, commission, department, institution, or school district thereof, and every other person employing persons within the state; but it does not mean religious organizations or associations, except such organizations or associations supported in whole or in part by money raised by taxation or public borrowing.” Employers of any size who fall under the above definition are subject to Colorado laws prohibiting harassment.

3. Where do you file?

You can begin your complaint process through the Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) Colorado Civil Rights Division (CCRD) Start a Complaint webpage. Filing your intake form does not constitute an official filing of your complaint, so be sure to do so as soon as possible to stay within the six-month deadline.

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file your complaint within six months from the date of the harassment with the Department of Regulatory Agencies Colorado Civil Rights Division.

Connecticut

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

Connecticut law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace.[1] See Connecticut Public Act No. 19-16 for more information.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

An employer that is subject to Connecticut’s laws prohibiting harassment is defined as “the state and all political subdivisions thereof and means any person or employer with three or more persons in such person’s or employer’s employ.”[2]

3. Where do you file?

To file a claim with the Connecticut Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities (CHRO), contact the office below serving the area where the harassment took place. More information about filing a claim with the CHRO can be found at the CHRO website.

Capital Region Office. 450 Columbus Boulevard  Suite 2  Hartford, CT 06103. Phone: (860) 561-3400 TDD: (860) 541-3459.
Areas Served. Contact this office if the alleged discrimination took place in: Avon, Bloomfield, Canton, Collinsville, East Granby, Farmington, Granby, Hartford, New Britain, Newington, Plainville, Rocky Hill, Simsbury, Suffield, West Hartford, Wethersfield, Windsor, Windsor Locks, Unionville.

Eastern Region Office. 100 Broadway  Norwich, CT 06360. Phone: (860) 886-5703  Fax: (860) 886-2550  TDD: (860) 886-5707.
Areas Served: Contact this office if the alleged discrimination took place in: Andover, Ashford, Bolton, Bozrah, Brooklyn, Canterbury, Chaplin, Chester, Clinton, Colchester, Columbia, Coventry, Deep River, Eastford, East Haddam, East Hampton, East Hartford, East Lyme, East Windsor, Ellington, Enfield, Essex, Franklin, Glastonbury, Griswold, Groton, Haddam, Hampton, Hebron, Killingly, Killingworth, Lebanon, Ledyard, Lisbon, Lyme, Manchester, Mansfield, Marlborough, Montville, New London, North Stonington, Norwich, Old Lyme, Old Saybrook, Plainfield, Pomfret, Portland, Preston, Putnam, Salem, Scotland, Somers, South Windsor, Sprague, Stafford, Sterling, Stonington, Thompson, Tolland, Union, Vernon, Voluntown, Waterford, Westbrook, Willington, Windham, Woodstock.

West Central Region Office. Rowland State Government Center, 55 West Main Street, Suite 210, Waterbury, CT 06702-2004. Phone: (203) 805-6530  Fax: (203) 805-6559  TDD: (203) 805-6579.
Areas Served. Contact this office if the alleged discrimination took place in: Ansonia, Barkhamsted, Beacon Falls, Berlin, Bethany, Bethlehem, Branford, Bristol, Burlington, Canaan, Cheshire, Colebrook, Cornwall, Cromwell, Derby, Durham, East Haven, Goshen, Guilford, Hamden, Hartland, Harwinton, Kent, Litchfield, Madison, Meriden, Middlebury, Middlefield, Middletown, Milford, Morris, Naugatuck, New Hartford, New Haven, Norfolk, North Branford, North Canaan, North Haven, Orange, Oxford, Plymouth, Prospect, Roxbury, Salisbury, Seymour, Sharon, Shelton, Southbury, Southington, Thomaston, Torrington, Wallingford, Warren, Washington, Waterbury, Watertown, West Haven, Winchester, Wolcott, Woodbridge, Woodbury, Winsted.   

Southwest Region Office. 350 Fairfield Avenue, 6th Floor Bridgeport, CT 06604. Phone: (203) 579-6246  Fax: (203) 579-6950  TDD: (203) 579-6246. 
Areas Served. Contact this office if the alleged discrimination took place in: Bethel, Bridgeport, Bridgewater, Brookfield, Danbury, Darien, Easton, Fairfield, Greenwich, Monroe, New Canaan, New Fairfield, New Milford, Newtown, Norwalk, Redding, Ridgefield, Sherman, Stamford, Stratford, Trumbull, Weston, Westport, Wilton.

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file your claim within 300 days of the harassment.

Delaware

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

Delaware law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace.[1] See the Delaware Department of Labor notice for more information.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

An employer that is subject to Delaware’s laws prohibiting harassment is defined as “any person employing 4 or more employees within the State at the time of the alleged violation, including the State or any political subdivision or board, department, commission or school district thereof. The term ‘employer’ with respect to discriminatory practices based upon sexual orientation or gender identity does not include religious corporations, associations or societies whether supported, in whole or in part, by government appropriations, except where the duties of the employment or employment opportunity pertain solely to activities of the organization that generate unrelated business taxable income subject to taxation under § 511(a) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 [26 U.S.C. § 511(a)].”

3. Where do you file?

To begin the filing process, complete the Discrimination Intake Form and submit it either online, by mail, or in person with the Delaware Department of Labor Office of Anti-Discrimination. If you want to submit in person or by mail you can do so at the following addresses:

New Castle County

Department of Labor

Office of Anti-Discrimination

4425 N. Market Street, 3rd Fl.

Wilmington, DE 19802

(302) 761-8200

Kent/Sussex Counties

Department of Labor

Office of Anti-Discrimination

Blue Hen Corporate Center 655 S. Bay Road, Suite 2H Dover, DE 19901

(302) 422-1134

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file your claim within 300 days of the harassment.

District of Coumbia

1. What types of harrssment claims are covered?

The D.C. Human Rights Law prohibits hostile work environments. See the D.C. Department of Human Resources website for more information.

 2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

An employer that is subject to D.C.’s laws prohibiting harassment is defined as “any person who, for compensation, employs an individual, except for the employer’s parent, spouse, children or domestic servants, engaged in work in and about the employer’s household; any person acting in the interest of such employer, directly or indirectly; and any professional association.” The D.C. Human Rights laws apply to employers with one or more employees.

3. Where do you file?

You can file a complaint with the D.C. Office of Human Rights (OHR) via mail, email or online.

To submit the complaint by mail or email, fill out this form and either:

  • Mail it to 441 4th Street NW, Suite 570N, Washington DC, 20001
  • Email it to: ohr.intake@dc.gov

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file your complaint with the Office of Human Rights within one year of the harassment.

Florida

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

Florida law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

An employer that is subject to Florida’s laws prohibiting harassment is defined as “any person employing 15 or more employees for each working day in each of 20 or more calendar weeks in the current or preceding calendar year, and any agent of such a person.”

3. Where do you file?

You can file an Injury with the Florida Commission on Human Relations. You can file an Inquiry through the Florida Commission on Human Relations’ webpage for the Technical Assistance Questionnaire for Employment.

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file an Inquiry within 365 days of the prohibited personnel action that you are complaining about. See the Florida statute for more information. If your workplace has at least 15 to 20 employees a sexual harassment claim can be filed with the Florida Commission on Human Relations.

Georgia

Georgia does nothave laws prohibiting sexual harassment in the workplace in non-government workplaces.; however, it does prohibit sexual harassment within state agency workplaces with 15 or more employees. See the Georgia Department of Administrative services website for more information. You can file a complaint through the Georgia Commission on Equal Opportunity website, and it must be filed within 180 of the harassment. Georgia employees are protected underTitle VII for the Civil Rights Act of 1964. See the Georgia Department of Labor website for more information.

 Hawaii

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

Hawaii law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace. See the Hawaii Civil Rights Commission Fact Sheet for more information. Important Note: Under the Hawai’i Employment Practices Act, an employer will be responsible for the acts of an employee for sexual harassment if the conduct was known by a supervisor or agent and no corrective measure were taken. An employer may also be responsible for a non-employee for acts of sexual harassment if the conduct was known and no immediate corrective action was taken.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

Any employer, whether government or private, except for federal employers, with one or more employees are covered.

3. Where do you file?

You can file a complaint with the Hawaii Civil Rights Commission. Call the Hawaii Civil Rights Commission at (808)586-8636 to speak to a staff member about filing a complaint.

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file within 180 of the harassment.

Idaho

1. What types of harassment claims are covered? 

Idaho law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace. See the Idaho Human Rights Commission website for more information.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

An employer that is subject to the Idaho Title 67, Chapter 59 of the Idaho Code is defined as “means a person, wherever situated, who hires five (5) or more employees for each working day in each of twenty (20) or more calendar weeks in the current or preceding calendar year whose services are to be partially or wholly performed in the state of Idaho, except for domestic servants hired to work in and about the person’s household.”

3. Where do you file?

You can begin a complaint inquiry with the Idaho Human Rights Commission through their Submit Inquiry webpage.

4. How much time do you have to file?

You have one year from the time of harassment to file a claim with the Idaho Human Rights Commission.

Illinois

1. What types of harassment claims are covered? 

Illinois law protects employees and nonemployees, included contractors or consultants who are performing services for an employer, from sexual harassment.[1] See the Illinois government website for more information.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

The Illinois Human Rights Act defines an “employer” as “Any person employing one or more employees when a complainant alleges civil rights violation due to unlawful discrimination based upon his or her physical or mental disability unrelated to ability, pregnancy, or sexual harassment.”

3. Where do you file?

You can file a charge with the Illinois Department of Human Rights by filling out this form and sending it to the department via email: IDHR.Intake@illinois.gov or by mail to 555 West Monroe Street, 7th Floor, Attn. Intake Unit, Chicago, IL 60661.

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file your charge within 300 days of the harassment.

Indiana

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

Indiana law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace. See the Indiana Civil Rights Commission Fact Sheet for more information.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

Indiana law defines “employer” as “the state or any political or civil subdivision thereof and any person employing six (6) or more persons within the state.”[2]

3, Where do you file?

You can file a complaint with the Indiana Civil Rights Commission by telephone: 800-628-6580, by mail or in person: Indiana Civil Rights Commission, 100 North Senate Avenue, Room N300, Indianapolis, IN 46204, or online using this link.

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file your complaint within 180 days of the harassment.

Iowa

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

Iowa law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace. See the Idaho Human Rights Commission website for more information.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

Iowa law defines “employer” as “the state of Iowa or any political subdivision, board, commission,department, institution, or school district thereof, and every other person employing employees within the state.”[2]

3. Where do you file?

You can file a complaint with the Iowa Civil Rights Commission:

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file your complaint within 300 days of the last incident of harassment.[3]

Kansas

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

Kansas law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace.[1] See The Kansas Chapter 44, Article 10 for more information.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

Kansas law defines “employer” as “any person in this state employing four or more persons and any person acting directly or indirectly for an employer, labor organizations, nonsectarian corporations, organizations engaged in social service work and the state of Kansas and all political and municipal subdivisions thereof, but shall not include a nonprofit fraternal or social association or corporation.”

3. Where do you file?

While the Kansas Human Rights Commission suggest that you contact their Intake Unit online or at 1-888-793-6874, you file a complaint with the Kansas Human Rights Commission by filling out this form and sending it to the commission:

  • By email: khrc.intake@ks.gov
  • By fax: (785) 296-0589
  • By mail: Kansas Human Rights Commission, Attn: Intake Unit, 900 S.W. Jackson, Suite 568S, Topeka, Kansas 66612

4. How much time do you have to file?

You have six months from the last incident of harassment to file your formal complaint.

Kentucky

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

Kentucky law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace. See Kentucky Revised Statute 525 for more information.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

Kentucky law defines “employer” as “a person who has eight (8) or more employees within the state in each of twenty (20) or more calendar weeks in the current or preceding calendar year and an agent of such a person…”

3. Where do you file?

To make a complaint with the Kentucky Commission on Human Rights, fill out this online form, call 1.800.292.5566, or email kchr.mail@ky.gov and ask to make a discrimination complaint.

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file within 180 from the date of the harassment.

Louisiana

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

Louisiana law prohibits sexual harassment claims. See Louisiana Revised Statute 42:342 for more information.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

Louisiana law applies to employers who have “20 or more employees (and in the case of pregnancy and related medical conditions, more than 25), labor organizations, joint labor management committees, employment, and apprenticeship and training programs, and all agencies of state and local governments.”

3. Where do you file?

You can file with the Louisiana Commission on Human Rights online or mail this form to the office at Post Office Box 94094 Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9094.

 4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file within 300 days of the harassment.

Maine

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

Maine law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace.[13] See the Maine Human Rights Commission website for more information.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

The Maine Human Rights Act, which prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace, applies to employers of any size.

3. Where do you file?

You can file a complaint with the Maine Human Rights Commission by filing this form in person or by mail at the following address:  Maine Human Rights Commission, 51 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0051. You can initiate a complaint by completing this form, and an Intake Officer will help you draft your complaint.

 4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file your complaint within 300 days of the harassment.

Maryland

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

Maryland law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace. See the Maryland Commission on Civil Rights website for more information.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters? 

Maryland sexual harassment law applies to employers with 1 or more employees.

3. Where do you file?

You can file a complaint with the Maryland Commission on Civil Rights, and you can initiate this process online, on the phone at 410-767-8600 or by email atmccr@maryland.gov.

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file within 300 days of the harassment.

Massachusetts

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

Massachusetts law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace. See the State of Massachusetts website for more information. Important Note: Massachusetts state law makes employers strictly liable for what their supervisors do, so if you prove a case against a supervisor then the employer is automatically liable. However, with a co-worker who is not a supervisor (for example, in a hostile work environment harassment case), the employer has to have known about it and refused to do anything before they are liable. See the State of Massachusetts website for more information.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

Massachusetts sexual harassment laws apply to employers with six or more employees and to any employer of a domestic worker regardless of size.

3. Where do you file?

You can initiate the complaint process with the Massachusetts Commission Against Discrimination by calling the office at 617-994-6000 and make an Intake Interview or schedule an intake interview online.

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file your complaint within 300 days of the last instance of sexual harassment.

Michigan

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

Michigan law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace. See the State of Michigan website for more information.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

Employers with one or more employees are subject to Michigan sexual harassment law.

3. Where do you file?

You can initiate the complaint filing process with the Michigan Department of Civil Rights online, by phone at 800-482-3604, or by email at MDCRServiceCenter@michigan.gov.

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file your complaint within 180 days of the harassment.

Minnesota

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

Minnesota law prohibits sexual harassment. See Minnesota Statute 363A for more information.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

Minnesota law defines employer as “a person who has one or more employees.”

3. Where do you file?

You can begin the filing process with the Minnesota Department of Human Rights through an online form or by calling the office at 1-833-454-0148.

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file within one year of the harassment to the Minnesota Department of Human Rights.

Mississippi

Mississippi does not have a statute that prohibits sexual harassment claims in employment.  If an employer has 15 or more employees, Mississippi employees are protected against sexual harassment by Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964.

Missouri

1 What types of harassment claims are covered?

Missouri law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace. See the Missouri Department of Labor website for more information.

2, Does the size or type of employer matters?

Missouri law defines employer as “includes the state, or any political or civil subdivision thereof, or any person employing six or more persons within the state, and any person directly acting in the interest of an employer, but does not include corporations and associations owned and operated by religious or sectarian groups.”

3. Where do you file?

You can begin the complaint filing process with the Missouri Commission on Human Rights by filling out this Complaint Assessment. You can then complete a Complaint Intake Questionnaire and send it to the commission via email at mchr@labor.mo.gov or mail it to: MCHR, P.O. Box 1129, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1129. You can also call the commission at 573-751-3325.

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file your complaint within 180 of the sexual harassment.

Montana

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

Montana law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace. See the Montana Department of Labor and Industry website for more information.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

Montana law defines “employer” as “an employer of one or more persons or an agent of the employer but does not include a fraternal, charitable, or religious association or corporation if the association or corporation is not organized either for private profit or to provide accommodations or services that are available on a non-membership basis.”

3. Where do you file?

You can initiate the complaint filing process with the Montana Human Rights Bureau by calling them at (406) 444-2884 or 1-800-542-0807. You can file a complaint with the Montana Human Rights Bureau by following these directions and delivering the complaint by fax (406) 443-3234, by mail to Human Rights Bureau, P.O. Box 1728, Helena, MT 59624, or in person at 1805 Prospect Ave, Helena, MT 59604.

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file the case within 180 days of the sexual harassment.

Nebraska

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

Nebraska law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace. See the Nebraska Fair Employment Practices Act for more information.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

Nebraska law defines employer as “a person engaged in an industry who has fifteen or more employees for each working day in each of twenty or more calendar weeks in the current or preceding calendar year, any agent of such a person, and any party whose business is financed in whole or in part under the Nebraska Investment Finance Authority Act regardless of the number of employees and shall include the State of Nebraska, governmental agencies, and political subdivisions, but such term shall not include (a) the United States, a corporation wholly owned by the government of the United States, or an Indian tribe or (b) a bona fide private membership club, other than a labor organization, which is exempt from taxation under section 501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code.”

3. Where do you file?

You can begin the complaint process with the Nebraska Equal Opportunity Commission by meeting with an Intake Investigator. You can contact an Intake Investigator online who will reach out to you after you submit this inquiry. You can meet with an Intake Investigator over the phone for the following locations: Lincoln office at 402-471-2024 or 800-642-6112, Omaha office at 402-595-2028 or 800-382-7820, or Scottsbluff office at 308-632-1340 or 800-830-8633. You can also meet with an Intake Investigator in person at the following locations:

Lincoln (Main Office)

Nebraska State Office Building

301 Centennial Mall South, 5th Floor

PO Box 94934

Lincoln, NE 68509-4934

Telephone: (402) 471-2024

Toll Free: (800) 642-6112

Omaha

State Office Building

1313 Farnam-on-the-Mall, Suite 318

Omaha, NE 68102-1836

Telephone: (402) 595-2028

Toll Free: (800) 382-7820

Scottsbluff

Panhandle State Office Complex

505A Broadway, Suite 600

Scottsbluff, NE 69361-3515

Telephone: (308) 632-1340

Toll Free: (800) 830-8633

Fax: (308) 632-1341

You can also submit an inquiry by filling out this form and submitting it to the Nebraska Equal Opportunity Commission by fax at (402) 471-4059, by email at neoc.intake@nebraska.gov,by mail at Nebraska Equal Opportunity Commission, P.O. Box 94934, 301 Centennial Mall, 5th Floor, Lincoln, NE 68509-4934

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file with the Nebraska Equal Opportunity Commission 300 days from the date of harm from sexual harassment. The Nebraska Fair Employment and Practices Act prohibits unwelcomed workplace harassment for entities with 15 or more employees.

Nevada

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

Nevada law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace. See the Nevada Equal Rights Commission Fact Sheet for more information.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

Nevada law applies to employers with 15 or more employees, which includes state and local governments, employment agencies, labor organizations, and the federal government.

3. Where do you file?

You can file a complaint with the Nevada Equal Rights Commission by filing this form online. If you cannot fill out the form online, you can call the Nevada Equal Rights Commission at (702) 486-7161 or (775) 823-6690.

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file with the Nevada Equal Rights Commission within 300 days of the sexual harassment.

New Hampshire

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

New Hampshire law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace. See New Hampshire State Commission for Human Rights Chapter 354-A for more information.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

New Hampshire law applies to employers with 6 or more employees; however, employers include the state and all political subdivisions, boards, departments, and commissions thereof.

3. Where do you file?

You can initiate the complaint filing process with the New Hampshire Commission for Human Rights by calling the Commission at 603.271.2767 (or TDD ACCESS: Relay NH 1.800.735.2964) or filling out this form and emailing it to the Commission at humanrights@nh.gov or mailing it to Intake Department, NH Commission for Human Rights, 2 Industrial Park Drive, Concord, NH 03301.

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file your complaint within 180 of the sexual harassment. There are some exceptions, so contact the Commission to determine if your situation meets an exception.

New Jersey

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

New Jersey law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace. See the New Jersey Department of Civil Rights Fact Sheet for more information.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

New Jersey law applies to all employers, no matter their size.

3. Where do you file?

You can initiate the complaint filing process with the New Jersey Department of Civil Rights you must submit an intake form, which you can do by creating an account and accessing the NJ Bias Investigation Access System. You can also call 1-833-653-2748 to receive assistance with the NJ Bias Investigation Access System.

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file with the New Jersey Department of Civil Rights within 180 days of the sexual harassment.

New Mexico

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

New Mexico law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace. See New Mexico Code R. § 9.1.1.7 for more information.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

New Mexico law defines employer as “means any person employing four or more persons and any person acting for an employer.”

3. Where do you file?

You can initiate the complaint filing process with the New Mexico Human Rights Bureau by submitting this form. After you submit this form, an investigator will be in contact with you regarding next steps.

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file your claim within 300 days of the sexual harassment.

New York

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

New York law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace.[59] See the New York State website for more information.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

New York sexual harassment law applies to all employers within the state.[60]  An employee can bring a sexual harassment complaint regardless of the number of employees an employer has.

3. Where do you file?

You can file a complaint with the New York Division of Human Rights by calling 1-888-392-3644, emailing this form to complaints@dhr.ny.gov, faxing this form to  718-741-8322, or by mailing the form or visiting one of the Division of Human Rights offices below to file a complaint in person:

Albany

Agency Building 1, 2nd Floor,

Empire State Plaza

Albany, New York 12220

Binghamton

44 Hawley Street, Room 603

Binghamton, New York 13901

Bronx

One Fordham Plaza, 4th Floor

Bronx, New York 10458

Brooklyn

55 Hanson Place, Room 1084

Brooklyn, New York 11217

Buffalo

Main Place Tower 350 Main Street, 10th Floor, Suite 1000B Buffalo, New York 14202

Long Island (Hempstead)

50 Clinton Street, Suite 301 Hempstead NY 11550

Long Island (Hauppauge)

State Office Building, 250 Veterans Memorial Highway, Suite 2B-49 Hauppauge, New York 11788

Manhattan

Adam Clayton Powell State Office Building

163 West 125th Street, 4th Floor

New York, New York 10027

Office of Sexual Harassment Issues/Queens

55 Hanson Place, Room 900 Brooklyn, New York 11217

Rochester

One Monroe Square, 259 Monroe Ave., Suite 308 Rochester, New York 14607

Syracuse

333 E. Washington Street, Room 543 Syracuse, New York 13202

White Plains

7-11 South Broadway, Suite 314 White Plains, New York 10601

4, How much time do you have to file?

You must file with the New York Division of Human Rights within three years of the sexual harassment.

5. Does the state have resources I can consult about sexual harassment?

New York has a statewide confidential hotline for complaints of workplace sexual harassment. Employees and individuals who visit a workplace in the course of their own work may call the toll-free hotline at 1-800-HARASS-3 (1-800-427-2773), Monday through Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., to make complaints and receive counsel and assistance regarding workplace sexual harassment. See the law for more information

North Carolina

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

North Carolina’s Equal Employment Practices law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace. See the North Carolina Unlawful Workplace Harassment FAQ for more information.

2.Does the size or type of employer matters?

North Carolina’s Equal Employment Practices law applies to employers with 15 or more employees.

3. Where do you file?

See workplacefairness.org for more information on the Equal Employment Opportunity offices at which you can file a complaint.

4. How much time do you have to file?

N/A

North Dakota

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

The North Dakota Human Rights Act prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

The North Dakota Human Rights Act defines “employer” as “a person within the state who employs one or more employees for more than one quarter of the year and a person wherever situated who employs one or more employees whose services are to be partially or wholly performed in the state.”

3. Where do you file?

You can initiate the complaint filing process with the North Dakota Department of Labor and Human Rights by filling out this form online or by filling out this form, printing it, signing it, and submitting it to the Department via email at labor@nd.gov or by mail at North Dakota Department of Labor and Human Rights, 600 E Boulevard Ave Dept 406, Bismarck ND 58505-034.

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file your complaint within 300 days of the sexual harassment.

Ohio

1.What types of harassment claims are covered?

Ohio law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

Ohio law applies to employers with 4 of more employees.

3. Where do you file?

You can initiate the complaint filing process with the Ohio Civil Rights Commission by filling out this online form or by filling out this form and mailing it to one of the regional offices listed below:

Central Office

Rhodes State Office Tower

30 East Broad Street, 5th Floor

Columbus, OH 43215

Akron Regional Office

Bradley S. S. Dunn, Regional Director

Akron Government Bldg.

161 S. High Street, Suite 205

Akron, OH 44308

Cincinnati- Satellite Office

Mid-Pointe Towers

7162 Reading Road, Suite 1005

Cincinnati, OH 45237

Cleveland Regional Office

Vera Boggs, Regional Director

Lausche State Office Building

615 W. Superior Ave., Suite 885

Cleveland, OH 44113

Columbus Regional Office

Aman Mehra, Regional Director

Rhodes State Office Tower

30 East Broad Street, 4th Floor

Columbus, OH 43215

Dayton Regional Office

Point West III

3055 Kettering Blvd, Suite 111

Dayton, OH 45439

Toledo Regional Office

Inder LeVesque, Regional Director

One Government Center

640 Jackson Street, Suite 936

Toledo, OH 43604

Note that these forms must be notarized.

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file your complaint with the Ohio Civil Rights Commission within two years of the sexual harassment.

Oklahoma

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

The Oklahoma Anti-Discrimination Act prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

The Oklahoma Anti-Discrimination Act applies to employers with one or more employees.

3. Where do you file?

You can file a complaint with the Oklahoma Office of Civil Rights Enforcement by completing this form and emailing it to ocre.complaints@oag.ok.gov, faxing it to (405) 521-6246, or mailing it to 313 N.E. 21st Street, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105.

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file your complaint within 180 days from the harassment.

Oregon

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

Oregon law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

Oregon law defines employer as “any person in this state who, directly or through an agent, engages or utilizes the personal service of one or more employees, reserving the right to control the means by which such service is or will be performed. Employer also includes any public body that, directly or through an agent, engages or utilizes the personal service of one or more employees, reserving the right to control the means by which such service is or will be performed, including all officers, agencies, departments, divisions, bureaus, boards and commissions of the legislative, judicial and administrative branches of the state, all county and city governing bodies, school districts, special districts, municipal corporations and all other political subdivisions of the state. Employer also includes any person who is in an employment relationship with an intern…”

3. Where do you file?

You can initiate the complaint process with the Oregon Civil Rights Division by filling out this form online and you will be contacted by an intake officer.

4. How much time do you have to file?

For claims that occurred after September 29, 2019, you must file your claim with the Oregon Civil Rights Division within 5 years of the sexual harassment. For claims that occurred before September 29, 2019, you must have filed your claim within one year of the sexual harassment.

Pennsylvania

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

The Pennsylvania Human Relations Act prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

The Pennsylvania Human Relations Act applies to public employers and private employers with four or more employees.

3. Where do you file?

You can file a complaint with the Pennsylvania Human Relations Commission by calling (717) 787-4410 or by visiting one of the regional offices:

333 Market Street, 8th Floor

Harrisburg, PA 17101-2210

110 North 8th Street, Suite 501

Philadelphia, PA 19107

301 Fifth Avenue, Suite 390, Piatt Place

Pittsburgh, PA 15222

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file within 180 days of the sexual harassment.

Rhode Island

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

The Rhode Island Fair Employment Practices Act prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

The Rhode Island Fair Employment Practices Act applies to all public employers and employers with four or more employees.

3. Where do you file?

You can initiate the complaint filing process with the Rhode Island Commission for Human Rights by calling the Commission at (401) 222-2661 or visiting the office in person at 180 Westminster Street, 3rd Floor, Providence, RI 02903. You may also initiate the complaint filing process by emailing this form to richr.info@richr.ri.gov or mail the same form to 180 Westminster Street, 3rd Floor, Providence, RI 02903.

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file your complaint with the Rhode Island Commission for Human Rights within one year from the date of the sexual harassment.

South Carolina

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

The South Carolina Human Affairs Law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

The South Carolina Human Affairs Law applies to “any person who has fifteen or more employees for each working day in each of twenty or more calendar weeks in the current or preceding calendar year, and any agent of such a person, but such term does not include an Indian tribe or a bona fide private membership club other than a labor organization”

3. Where do you file?

To initiate the complaint filing process with the South Carolina Human Affairs Commission, you can fill out this form online. You can also print this form out and fax it to (803) 737-7835 or mail it to/drop it off in person at 1026 Sumter Street, Suite 101, Columbia, SC 29201. 

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file your complaint with the South Carolina Human Affairs Commission within 180 days of the sexual harassment.

South Dakota

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

South Dakota’s Human Relations Act prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

The South Dakota’s Human Relations Act applies to all employers.

3. Where do you file?

You can initiate the complaint filing process with the South Dakota Division of Human Rights by filling out this form and submitting it electronically or print it out and mail it to 123. W., Missouri Ave., Pierre, SD 57501.

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file your complaint with the South Dakota Division of Human Rights within 180 days of the sexual harassment.

Tennessee

1) What types of harassment claims are covered?

The Tennessee Human Rights Act prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

The Tennessee Human Rights Act applies to “the state, or any political or civil subdivision thereof, and persons employing eight (8) or more persons within the state, or any person acting as an agent of an employer, directly or indirectly.”

3. Where do you file?

You can file a complaint with the Tennessee Human Rights Commission using this Online Complaint Form or you can print this form and submit it to the Commission via fax at (615) 253-1886, via email at ask.thrc@tn.gov, or by mail or in-person at Tennessee Tower 312 Rosa L Parks Avenue, 23rd floor Nashville, Tennessee 37243.

4. How much time do you havve to file?

You must file with the Tennessee Human Rights Commission within 180 days of the sexual harassment.

Texas

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

Texas law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

For claims based on conduct that occurred after September 1, 2021, Texas law applies to employers of any size. For claims based on conduct that occurred prior to September 1, 2021,Texas law applies to all public employers and private employers with 15 or more employees.

3. Where do you file?

You can file a complaint with the Texas Workforce Commission Civil Rights Division by filling out this form and sending it by email at EEOIntake@twc.state.tx.us, fax at (512) 463-2643 or (512) 463-2755, or mail at 101 East 15th Street, Guadalupe CRD, Austin, TX 78778-0001.

4. How much time do you have to file?

For claims based on conduct that occurred after September 1, 2021, you must file your complaint with the Texas Workforce Commission Civil Rights Division within 300 days of the sexual harassment. For claims based on conduct that occurred prior to September 1, 2021, you must file your complaint with the Texas Workforce Commission Civil Rights Division within 180 days of the sexual harassment.

Utah

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

The Utah Anti-Discrimination Act prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

The Utah Anti-Discrimination Act applies to public employers and employers with 15 or more employees.

3. Where do you file?

You can initiate a complaint with the Utah Antidiscrimination and Labor Division by filling out this intake questionnaire and emailing it to discrimination@utah.gov or mailing it to Utah Antidiscrimination & Labor Division Employment Discrimination 160 East 300 South, 3rd Floor INTAKE QUESTIONNAIRE PO Box 146630 Salt Lake City, UT 84114‐6630.

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file this complaint within 180 days of the sexual harassment.

Vermont

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

The Vermont Fair Employment Practices Act and the Vermont Sexual Harassment Prevention Law prohibit sexual harassment in the workplace.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

Vermont law prohibiting sexual harassment applies to all employers in Vermont.

3. Where do you file?

You can initiate the complaint filing process with the Civil Rights Unit of the Office of the Vermont Attorney General by filling out this form online, calling (888) 745-9195 (toll-free in VT) or (802) 828-3657, or emailing ago.civilrights@vermont.gov.

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file your complaint with the Civil Rights Unit of the Office of the Vermont Attorney General within one year of the sexual harassment.

Virginia

1. Wjat tpes of harassment claims are covered?

The Virginia Human Rights Act prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

The Virginia Human Rights Act prohibition of sexual harassment applies to employers with five or more employees.

3. Where do you file?

You can file a complaint with the Virginia Office of Civil Rights by filling out this form and mailing it to 202 North Ninth Street, Richmond, VA 23219 or emailing it to CivilRights@oag.state.va.us.

4. How mucn time do you have to file? 

You must file with the Virginia Office of Civil Rights within 180 days of the sexual harassment.

Washington

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

The Washington State Law Against Discrimination prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

The Washington State Law Against Discrimination applies to employers with 8 or more employees, excluding religious organizations.

3. Where do you file?

You can file with the Washington State Human Rights Commission by filling out this form and mailing it to 711 S. Capitol Way, Suite 402 PO BOX 42490, Olympia, WA 98504-2490 or emailing it to frontdesk@hum.wa.gov.

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file your complaint with the Washington State Human Rights Commission within six months of the sexual harassment. 

West Virginia

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

The West Virginia Human Rights Act prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

The West Virginia Human Rights Act applies to employers with 12 or more employees.

3. Where do you file?

You can initiate the complaint filing process with the West Virginia Human Rights Commission by calling (304) 558-2616 or filling out this form and mailing it to State of West Virginia Human Rights Commission, Room 108A, 1321 Plaza East, Charleston, WV 25301-1400.[103]

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file a complaint with the West Virginia Human Rights Commission within one year of the sexual harassment.[104]

Wisconsin

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

The Wisconsin Fair Employment Law prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

The Wisconsin Fair Employment Law applies to employers of any size.

3. Where do you file?

You can file a complaint with the Wisconsin Equal Rights Division by submitting this online form or filling out this form, signing, and mailing it to either:

Equal Rights Division

PO Box 8928

Madison, WI 53708

Equal Rights Division

819 N. 6th St., Room 723

Milwaukee, WI 53203

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file your complaint with the Wisconsin Equal Rights Division within 300 days from the date of the sexual harassment.

 Wyoming

1. What types of harassment claims are covered?

The Wyoming Fair Employment Practices Act prohibits sexual harassment in the workplace.

2. Does the size or type of employer matters?

The Wyoming Fair Employment Practices Act applies to public employers and private employers with two or more employees.

3. Where do you file?

You initiate the complaint filing process with the Labor Standards Division of the Wyoming Department of Employment by filling out this intake questionnaire and submit it to the office nearest you, either:

Cheyenne Office

Labor Standards

5221 Yellowstone Road

Cheyenne, WY 82002

Casper Office

Labor Standards 851 Werner Court Suite 121

Casper, QY 82601

4. How much time do you have to file?

You must file with the Labor Standards Division of the Wyoming Department of Employment within 6 months of the sexual harassment.